There has been plenty of chatter about the ball from Akash Deep that sent Joe Root packing in the second India vs England Test at Edgbaston. Root was dismissed for just six runs with the game on the line. Root’s dismissal meant that England were in dire straits, slumping to 50/3. That day, England were 72/3 at stumps of day 4, needing 536 runs to win. But India managed to level the series 1-1 with a 336-run victory.
In the aftermath of England’s defeat there was controversy brewing, at least in some sections of England media with claims that the ball should have been chalked off as a back-foot no-ball.
But former India cricketer Irfan Pathan has ended the nontroversy with a breakdown video for broadcasters Sony Sports Network, explaining why the Akash Deep delivery was a legal one.
Story continues below this ad
The former India pacer explained that Akash Deep’s first contact with the back foot was inside the crease with the heel landing outside. This is why it is not a no ball, as the first contact of the foot with the pitch is considered while deciding a back-foot no-ball.
There were photos doing the rounds that show how Akash Deep’s back foot crossed the line. But Pathan slowed down the clip from the run up and showed how Akash Deep’s first contact with the pitch, with his toes, was well inside. And then his heel lands outside.
“There is a controversy being created by English media and then also on social media. It’s been shown that the ball was a no ball. Lekin asli kahaani kya hai? (But what’s the real story?) The real story starts a few frames before (the photo shared on social media). Contact point is what matters. If the contact point was on the line, then it would be a no ball. But because the contact point is inside, it is a legal delivery,” Pathan said.
WATCH: Irfan Pathan explains why Akash Deep bowled a legal delivery
No Ball or Legal delivery?
Irfan Pathan clears it up on #SchoolOfCricket 📹🏏#SonySportsNetwork #GroundTumharaJeetHamari #ENGvIND #NayaIndia #DhaakadIndia #TeamIndia #ExtraaaInnings pic.twitter.com/PJIakjrGJ8
— Sony Sports Network (@SonySportsNetwk) July 6, 2025
https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js
“That’s why it’s not a no ball. Legally he’s taken a good wicket. Skillfully, he taken the wicket,” Pathan had explained.
Story continues below this ad
Commentator Alison Mitchell, speaking on BBC’s Test Match Special, said: “The delivery from Akash Deep — which we said was wide off the crease — his foot on the back crease is out. Looks like by about two inches. Maybe a little bit more. But comfortably. So his back foot, which needs to land within the line, just taps about two inches over the line. Not picked up!”
What is the back-foot no-ball?
There are essentially two creases: the popping crease, which is the white line that runs perpendicular to the pitch. Then there are shorter lines next to the stumps that run parallel to the pitch. These lines are the return creases.
What does the rule say?
According to the MCC’s laws of the game (law 21.5), “For a delivery to be fair in respect of the feet, in the delivery stride (21.5.1) the bowler’s back foot must land within and not touching the return crease appertaining to his/her stated mode of delivery. (21.5.2) the bowler’s front foot must land with some part of the foot, whether grounded or raised – on the same side of the imaginary line joining the two middle stumps as the return crease described in 21.5.1, and – behind the popping crease.”